Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene
Chapter 316 of the Florida Statutes is known as the Florida Uniform Traffic Control Law, and Florida Statute § 316.062 establishes a motorist’s duty to give information and render aid. Under this statute, any driver of a vehicle involved in a crash resulting in injury to or death of any person or damage to any vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person is required to give his or her name, address, and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving.
Upon request and if available, the motorist should also exhibit his or her license or permit to drive and render to any person injured in the crash reasonable assistance, including the carrying, or the making of arrangements for the carrying, of such person to a medical care provider. Failure to comply with the provisions of this statute constitutes the offense of leaving the scene of an accident (more commonly referred to as “hit and run”), and misdemeanor charges for this crime can still carry serious consequences.
Attorney for Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene Defense in Fort Lauderdale, FL
If you were arrested for allegedly leaving the scene of a crash in South Florida, do not try to explain yourself to authorities without legal representation. Instead, contact Meltzer & Bell, P.A. as soon as possible.
Our Fort Lauderdale criminal defense lawyers defend clients accused of traffic offenses in communities throughout Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Palm Beach County. You can have our attorneys review your case and answer all of your legal questions when you call (561) 557-8686 to receive a free, confidential consultation.
Palm Beach County Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene Information Center
- Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene Charges in Florida
- Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene Penalties in Florida
- Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene Resources in Palm Beach County
Florida Statute § 316.061(1) establishes that the driver of a vehicle involved in a crash resulting only in damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person is required to immediately stop at the scene of the crash or as close thereto as possible and remain at the scene until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of Florida Statute § 316.062. A violation of this statute is a second-degree misdemeanor.
Under Florida Statute § 316.063, the driver of any vehicle that collides with, or is involved in a crash with, any vehicle or other property that is unattended, resulting in any damage to such other vehicle or property, is required to immediately stop. The driver must either locate and notify the operator or owner of the vehicle or other property of the driver’s name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving, or he or she must attach securely in a conspicuous place in or on the vehicle or other property a written notice providing the aforementioned information.
The driver must also notify the nearest office of a duly authorized police authority. A violation of Florida Statute § 316.063 is also a second-degree misdemeanor.
When a leaving the scene crime is classified as a second-degree misdemeanor, a conviction is punishable by:
- Up to 60 days in jail; and
- Fine of up to $500.
Unlike felony leaving the scene of an accident cases involving injuries, alleged offenders are not subject to driver’s license revocation. Some courts, however, may order individuals to pay restitution to victims.
Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office — The Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office is the third-largest law enforcement agency of Florida’s 67 counties. Visit this website to learn more about the agency’s various divisions, including its Strategic Operations and Special Investigations Division. You can also find information about specific districts and public services.
Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office
3228 Gun Club Rd
West Palm Beach, FL 33406
STAY AT THE SCENE | Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles — Visit this website to learn more about the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ Stay at the Scene campaign. Read more about the Aaron Cohen Life Protection Act. You can also find information about hit run penalties, press conference, and active cases.
Find a Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene Defense Lawyer in Fort Lauderdale
Do you think that you might be under investigation or were you already arrested for allegedly leaving the scene of a crash in the Palm Beach County area? Do not speak to authorities until you can first contact Meltzer & Bell, P.A..
Our experienced criminal defense attorneys in Fort Lauderdale represent individuals in communities all over South Florida, including Wellington, West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Delray Beach, Greenacres, Jupiter, Lake Worth, Palm Beach Gardens, Riviera Beach, Royal Palm Beach, and several others. Call (561) 557-8686 or fill out an online contact form to have our lawyers provide a complete evaluation of your case during a free initial consultation.