Florida Driver’s License Suspension by Offense

Learn more about the driver license suspension periods for various offenses in Florida listed by the statute number from lowest to highest. This charge includes the statute number, a description of the offense, and the points accessed after a conviction, if any.

If you have questions about the driver's license suspension imposed after you receive a civil or criminal traffic citation then contact an experienced attorney at Meltzer & Bell, P.A.. We represent clients throughout Palm Beach County and Broward County. We represent clients in the Main Courthouse in West Palm Beach, the Broward County Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, the South County Traffic Court in Delray Beach, the South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood, and multiple other courthouses all over South Florida.

  • Florida Statute § 61.13016, Failure to pay child support — Suspended until paid.
  • Florida Statute § 318.18, Failure to stop for a school bus (2nd offense within 5 years) — Not less than 90 days and not more than six months (four points).
  • Florida Statute § 318.18, Passing a school bus on the side that children enter and exit (2nd offense in 5 years) — Not less than 180 days and not more than one year (four points).
  • Florida Statute § 318.18, Load on vehicle (2nd offense in 5 years) — Not less than one year and not more than two years.
  • Florida Statutes §§ 322.056 and 569.11 3rd possession, misrepresenting age or purchase of tobacco by person under 18 years of age — From 30 days to 12 weeks.
  • Florida Statute § 322.056, Possession of alcohol by person under 21 years of age — Six months to one year (first offense); two years for subsequent violation.
  • Florida Statute § 322.26, Murder / manslaughter resulting from operation of a motor vehicle — Mandatory revocation (permanent) – Revocation can be immediate.
  • Florida Statute § 322.26, Any felony in commission of which a vehicle is used — Mandatory revocation (permanent).
  • Florida Statute § 322.26, Use of vehicle in lewdness or prostitution — Mandatory revocation (permanent).
  • Florida Statute § 322.26, Reckless driving three times in 12 months — Mandatory revocation (permanent) (four points).
  • Florida Statute § 322.2615, Refusal to submit to breath, blood or urine test
    • One year (first refusal); and
    • 18 months (if driving privilege was previously suspended as a result of a refusal).
  • Florida Statute § 322.2615, Driving with blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher — Six months (first refusal); 12 months (if driving privilege was previously suspended as a for same offense).
  • Florida Statute § 316.193, Drunk Driving Arrest (DUI) — Six month to lifetime suspension (Conviction not required, suspension upon arrest).
  • Florida Statute § 322.245, Failure to pay traffic citation — Suspended until paid.
  • Florida Statute § 322.2616, Person under 21 years of age with blood alcohol concentration of .02 or higher
    • Six months (first violation); and
    • One year (if driving privilege was previously suspended for same offense).
  • Florida Statute § 322.27, 12 points in 12 months — 30 days.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27, 18 points in 18 months — Three months.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27, 24 points in 36 months — One year.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27(5)(a), Habitual Offenders — Five years.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27(3)(d)2., Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50 — Six points on driver license.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27(3)(d)3., Unlawful speed, or unlawful use of a wireless communications device, resulting in a crash — Six points on driver license.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27(3)(d)5., Unlawful speed
    • Not in excess of 15 miles per hour of lawful or posted speed — Three points on driver license.
    • In excess of 15 miles per hour of lawful or posted speed — Four points on driver license.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27(3)(d)6., A violation of a traffic control signal device — Four points on driver license.
  • Florida Statute § 322.27(3)(d)7., All other moving violations — Three points on driver license.
  • Florida Statute § 403.413(6)(b), Violation of Florida Litter Law — Three points on driver license.
  • Florida Statute § 627.733, Failure to maintain required security (insurance) — Suspended until insurance coverage is secured.
  • Florida Statute § 812, Theft (as defined in Florida Statute § 810.014 and 812.015) — Not less than six months and not more than 1 year.
  • Florida Statute § 812.0155, Petit Theft (Florida Statute § 812.014 or Florida Statute § 812.015)
    • Court may order suspension up to six months for a first offense; and
    • One year for a second offense.
  • Florida Statute § 984.09, Child contempt of court — One year (first offense); two years (second or subsequent offense).
Tell Us About Your Case

All fields are required. Form use does not create an attorney-client relationship

Money Back Guarantee*
No Points No School No Court Or your money back*
From $45.00* (Non-Moving)

* Some restrictions apply. Non-Criminal infractions only. Court costs additional, if any. Call for more information.

Client Testimonials for Meltzer & Bell, P.A.
Client Testimonials
  • ...A long weekend vacation in Palm Beach resulted in the potential for serious consequences that could have set me back in unimaginative ways. M+B was a truly incredible legal advocate and was always accessible within minutes to answer questions and discuss the progress of the case within the system - truly remarkable. I could not have retained better legal representation in my case in Palm Beach County.

    Anonymous
  • I just had to commend you on the outstanding job you did on behalf of your client in court yesterday. If my clients were ever to ask me if I know of a good DUI defense attorney, I know to whom I can refer them!

    A.A.
  • I was facing hard prison time and punishment. [Larry] did everything to pull strings and get me into rehab. After meeting with many therapists I finally got one to diagnose me successfully with Bipolar. Thanks to Larry I have been sober since 6/19/09. My health is great and my family life is amazing. It's because he saw something in me and my family that I wasn't just an alcoholic there was something that told me it was something else.

    A.P.
  • I was charged with a felony and facing the scary thought of losing my job, but thank you Attorney Steven Bell for helping me. Now I’m able to keep my job and take care of my family. I am truly amazed by your service, and you for understanding what I have to deal with. To me I’m very impressed by way you handled my case and was here to listen and make things OK!

    Y.E.
  • Mr. Steven Bell, Words cant explain how thankful I am for you and your firm. I was facing felony charges and even looking at doing 5 years in jail! Not only did you fight for me, you got my case dismissed and dropped. For that, I don't have words to say “thank you” you were always kind and believed in me. You looked for every opportunity and you won! Thank you for being my guardian angel in disguise and steering me in the right direction. You are forever my “too go guy” thank you soooo much!

    A.L.
Read More